IntoTemptation…..jewellery musings

Thoughts on jewelry, accessories and whatever else takes my fancy

Jewel of the day: Elizabeth Street Marquise Opal Cabochon Ring

I always enjoy learning more about jewellers and appreciate it when they provide information about themselves on their sites. Elizabeth Street is based in LA, and has this to say: Born and raised in New Orleans, I became inspired by the aesthetic of paint chipping off of beautiful old houses and the oxidized texture or wrought iron fences; the rare beauty of imperfections acquired by age. Since receiving my B.F.A. in 2003 from the Savannah College of Art and Design in the Metals and Jewelry department I have worked in various aspects of the jewelry industry, and in 2008 I began developing my own line.  The overall style that I aspire to achieve is loosely based off of the contents of my grandmother’s jewelry box. She collected and dealt ancient and estate jewelry and stones. My interest in Indian rose cut diamonds stems from the jewelry that I was exposed to through her. These stones have an inherent quality that is both imperfect and uniquely beautiful. The designs I have created are intended to pay homage to these characteristics without attempting to hide any of the intrinsic qualities that make a rose cut stone so distinctive. Each piece of jewelry is hand made in my Los Angeles studio. ”

This sleek opal ring is set into 22k gold, with a tougher 14k gold shank. It sells at LAs Roseark for USD $2,420. Street’s web site can be found here.

Elizabeth Street Opal Ring

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

